Posted by: Diane F | May 23, 2008

3D Bow Tie tutorial and more

Well as I was preparing my Mango-Strawberry-OJ-Spinach smootie to go with my breakfast, they don’t stick with you very long so I had them with some oatmeal,  I was wondering about today’s blog.  I had intended to down load pictures from a disc and give you a peak at what I was able to do earlier this year and my DS#1′s prom pics.  Well I couldn’t find the camera bag.  In the process of looking for the bag I happened across my goodie bag that came in the mail yesterday.  It was 2 1/2″ strips of 30′s reproduction fabric I did on a trade over at MQ resource.  I just had to do something with these, my ADD kicked in and I forgot about the camera bag.  The light bulb went on, I thought do a tutorial on how to make 3 dimensional bow tie blocks.  I will be making several more to go in a hand bag.  (Fellow Longarmers please be kind and don’t beat me up for showing others something we aren’t to pleased about having come in our shops)

OK these can be made with any size block as long as all 5 are the same size.  I used 2 1/2″  blocks that I cut from my strips.

You need 3 of the color for the bow tie and 2 of the color for the back ground

Stack together as shown below, the stack on the left has the BG fabric on top with the BT fabric on the bottowm right sides together. The extra BT square is folded in half.  Then on the right side the BT fabric is on top of the BG fabric and right side together. 

now place the folded square inside your pair of squares from the right side.  Then stitch on the right side as shown the the second picture.

Now fold the fabric back with right sides out, finger press

Then slide the folded square in between the two fabrics from the left side as shown below

 

now stitch with a 1/4″ seam allowance

Finger press the left side pieces out as shown below.

Now you need to open up the square of folded fabric so you can match the two seam allowances as you would if you were sewing a 4 patch block together.  LIne up the edges as best as you can

 

I pinned themin 3 places to keep everthing where it needed to be and then sewed my 1/4″ seam allowance

I then pressed it open and it looked like this.

As you can see I can stick my finger in and it is dimensional on all 4 sides

So have fun with this and everyone please have a safe and happy Memorial Day weekend!  Oh yes if you do make some of these I would love to see them!

Responses

  1. Terrific tutorial, thanks!

  2. Good job, Diane! What a cute block!

  3. Very cool Thanks!

  4. I love it! I’m going to have to try it, it would make a fun baby quilt.

  5. Thanks for the good instructions.

  6. Thank you so much Diane. I had made 3-D bowtie blocks several years ago but could not find my pattern when I wanted to make more. A quick Google request pointed me to your site. Your instructions are very easy to understand and follow. My blocks turned out perfect. I used thrift shop neckties.

  7. Great tutorial! I needed to be able to make this block for a class, but had missed the instruction. I am so happy with the way my block turned out!

  8. I had seen a 3d bowtie quilt about 10 years ago in Dallas and was intrigued by it. I took apart my sample and then did a search for it and found you. This last week I finally started one for a special baby and finally finished the top. I’m working on a few bugs on my sewing machine, but hope to start quilting on it soon. Great tutorial!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

