Posted by: Diane F | August 3, 2007

My favorite flower

In Response to Ronda’s question about flowers, I will show you my grandmother iris’s.  Please over look the weeds.  My quilting takes way more priority than my garden. 

2006_0616image0017.jpg

These iris’s came from my grandmothers house.  I dug them up before she sold it.  She and my grandfather worked at the University of Minnesota Arboratum (sp?)  where they propogated (developed, is that the correct term?) these iris’s.  She was able to have them at her house and the only other place they were was at the ARB, as she called it.  My mother also has some of these now as I had to move them to her house when I moved to WI.  So she held some hostage when I asked for them back.  My grandmother, Viola, will turn 98 years old later this month.  She used to quilt and is always interested in what I am doing.  She is always amazed at what I do with my longarm machine.

When I read Ronda’s post about favorite flowers it made me think of and miss my grandmother!  So I just had to tell you all a little about her.  

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing such a heart warming story, I hope you are enjoying many happy memories of your Grandmother. My love for pansies comes from my Great Grandma Ada who I adored, she loved to play the piano and sing no matter how awful her voice was it was honey to my ears, I miss her so. She always let me pick all the pansies I could thus my tattoo of pansies my tribute and never ending love of her and her kind and beautiful spirit. Beautiful flowers and we all and everything we love prospers amongst weeds. Hugs to you

  2. diane, that is just a lovely post! thank you. kayp


Leave a Reply

Categories

