Posted by: Diane F | September 17, 2007

How About Them Apples

2007-0916133656.jpg  2007-0916133740.jpg

Yes that is a large size spool of Sew Fine thread sitting between those two apples.  The are called Wolf River Apples.  They are not just flukes, almost all of the apples of this variety are this large.  I have been busy lately as I have taken a part time job at an apple orchard near where I live.  This weekend the boys who work at the orchard started to pick these large apples.  I just had to bring two home and try them.  These are mainly a baking apple as they have a softer texture to eat plain.  However I did sample them when I was slicing them and I happen to like them raw.  So between my vacation I have planned for next week and the job at the orchard and quilting, blogs will probably be slim.  So do you want to see what I did with the apples?

2007-09161515291.jpg

Good old fashioned apple crisp,  didn’t have time for making crust for a regular pie.  The recipe???? fill the pan with apple slices, 9×13, dump on some sugar and cinnamon.  Melt a stick of butter, I know that is the bad part of this recipe, put in some oatmeal, just a little at my house, them about 1 cup or so brown sugar and a very heaping cup of flour and a shake or two of salt.  Mix this and toss on top of the apples and bake at 350 degrees until the apples are soft and the top is brown!  Great with ice cream!   Oh yes it only took those two apples to fill that pan.

Responses

  1. I love, love, love apple crisp! Yummmmm….I would really like to eat some of that!

  2. OH MY!!! I think I just shorted out my entire keyboard drooling!!!! Dag… that looks good!! At least you will work some of the calories off at the orchard 🙂

  3. Holy cow! Those apples are huge! I love apple crisp, and now that it’s turning a little nippy, I’m going to make some this weekend. Thanks for the recipe, Diane!

  4. OK – I’m making apple crisp tomorrow! I dont care if my world is coming apart at the seams. Apple Crisp will make it all right again.

  5. Don’tcha love it when you only have to peel 4 apples for a pie! LOL

    We did apple crisp on Sunday. It was yummy!
    TerriW

  6. OH YUMMMM! That apple crisp looks absolutely delicious!! Was it as good as it looked? Ice cream on top?? Oh dang, it looks good!!!

  7. Yum, Be sure to save me some of that Apple Crisp!! Looks quite tasty!

  8. Hope all is well with you and yours…….miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

