Posted by: Diane F | November 6, 2007

My birthday present

OK I know we have been home from Kansas City for more than a month.  The camera was misplaced as well as my sanity this last month, but that is a blog for another time.  So with out further ado, here is part one of our trip in a nut shell.

My birthday was October 1st, it has been my wish for about the last 5 years to go to a Nascar race the weekend of my birthday.  Well this year we finally pulled it off.   DH and I packed up the camper on Thursday afternoon and headed to Shakopee Minnesota to pick up some friends and do some vehichle swaping.  Said a brief hello to my mom as she was headed here to watch the boys for the weekend and watch DS#1 play in the homecoming football game, I know bad mom I am but that is another blog too.  By 10 pm we had all the switching on vehicles done, one ton pickup with a popup camper topper on the back and our RV pulling behind, yup a Jeff Foxworthy redneck joke waitin’ to happen!  We were on the road, Three guys in the topper, Homey was driving Shelby was copilot and DH and I were in the back seat.  It wasn’t long until I was sleeping.  I was woken once for a gas and go break in Iowa and then again as we got to the outskirts of KC to read the map.  Without an makor incidence we made to the campground just across from the Track.

Friday was qualifying day for the nextel cup drivers.  Here are a couple of pics of them lined up.

2007-09192007_0928005.jpg  2007-09192007_0928003.jpg

One pic for me and one for Randi.   Sorry I had to get those other butt head drivers cars in the pictures but that is the way the were lined up.

After qualifing was over, there were some practice sessions and then we headed to the haulers that sell all the goodies.  We , DH, Clemmer and I did some window shopping and then watched the SPEED TV show Trackside live.  We watched them for a while and then DH wanted to head back to the camper.  WE LEFT TOO EARLY!  And this is where Randi will want to jump through cyber space and ring my neck.  I found out from Homey and Chris, that Bobby Labonte had come out to the drivers area to sign autographs.  Honest had I known he was coming or I would have stayed.  The only Driver’s they said were coming were Ford drivers and The good ones had way to long of lines to wait in.

On the way back to the campground we came across one of the KC speedway brush trucks,  that is a mini firetruck made out of a regular pickup.  Well we wad to take DH’s picture with it so here he is.

2007-09192007_0928008.jpg

Well that was about it for the first 36 hours, except for some festive beverages.  More on the next 3 days in the days to come. 

Responses

  1. Now this is the blog I’ve been waiting for…LOL! And my very own pic in it, too! I’m glad you had such a good time! I love the PIF idea, I’m just always hesitant to sign up for something I might not get accomplished. I have good intentions….but sometimes life gets in the way.

  2. Sounds like you had a great time. Glad you enjoyed. Thanks for the link on your blogroll.

  3. Happy belated birthday!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

