Posted by: Diane F | April 19, 2008

Still no pictures so how about a recipe

As I checked my tulips this morning for there very slow progress, I noticed that the rhubarb was just peaking through it’s mulch.  So in anticipation I thought I would share with you my favorite recipe.  I have loved these since I young.  They come from the church cookbook from St. Bernards Catholic Church.  My copy is tatered and well loved.  I asked for it as a graduation present from my Grandmother Vi.  Who is now in her late 9o’s ( know bad granddaughter, I think she is 98). The book was released in 1975 and I got my copy in 1984.

I will warn you that these are sinful when it comes to calories, but they taste so good.

Rhurbarb Bars

Put in a 3 quart sauce pan:  3 cups chopped rhurbarb,  1 1/2 cups of white sugar,  1/3 cup water,  2 Tablespoons flour.  Cook until thick.  Add 1 teaspoon Vanilla.

Crust and topping: Melt 1 cup of shortening (part butter , or I use all butter).  Add 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar,  1 1/2 cups flour (here I can get away with at least using part wholewheat flour without DH and the DS’s knowing),  1 1/2 cups oatmeal,  1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda.  Mix together well.  pat 2/3 of this mixturein a 9×13 pan.  Add rhubarb mixture.  Crumble leftover crumbs on top of rhubarb.  Optional is to sprinkle with nuts, I skip this. 

Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until top is golden brown.

 

For those of you futher south who have rhurbarb already or will shortly, let me know what you think if you make it.  BTW, if you take this to a gathering be prepared to share the recipe.

 

I am off for somemore butt planting.  Have a great weekend. 

Responses

  1. MMM sounds good!!! Don’t you love those older cookbooks!! 🙂

  2. I sure hope you are doing better by the time I get home from my trip! Hugs, friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

