Posted by: Diane F | June 7, 2008

Quilting A.D.D., we all get it sometimes

I don’t know about you, but once in awhile I am just bored with the projects I am working on and need to work on something new.  Be honest girls, we all wouldn’t have as many UFO’s as we do if we didn’t get bored.   Well this morning I had ADD bad and needed a new project to work on.  The 2 1/2″ strips of thirties fabrics from the trade on MQ resources were calling me.  I came across a picture of a buzz saw quilt on a blog and thought that would be great for those strips and the bolt of Kona Snow fabric I bought last Sunday.  So I had to figure out the math to make it work with my Noodles(what we called the 2-1/2″ strips in the trade).  Since I did the math I thought I would share it with you.  You can make one block from a strip with enough left for a scrappy, piano key type border, I will talk about that in a later blog.

Each block needs one dark fabric and one light fabric.  All strips are cut 2 1/2″ so if you are using yardage you must first cut it into the 2 1/2″ strips.

From the dark fabric strips cut

2 – 10 1/2″ pieces,  1 – 7 3/4″ piece,  1 – 5 1/4″ piece,  and 1 – 2 1/2″ square

From the light fabric strips cut

1 each at 10 1/2″,  7 3/4″, 5 1/4″ and 2 1/2″ square

pair up the pieces as shown below, the 10 1/2″ dark with the 2 1/2″ square of light, the 7 3/4″ dark with the 5 1/4″ light, the 5 1/4″ dark with the 7 3/4″ light, and the 2 1/2″ dark square with the 10 1/2″ light.

You will need to draw a diagonal line on each of the 2 1/2″ squares and place them as shown in the next three photos.  You will then stitch on the drawn line.  trim and press towards the dark.

Fo the other two pairs of strips, place the light on top as shown below.  Draw a 45 degree line as shown and stitch.  Trim and press towards the dark.

Lay out the blocks as shown below, starting with your extra dark 10 1/2″ piece.  Sew using a 1/4″ seam allowance as usual. 

You block should be 10 1/2″ when sewn together as below.

These blocks worked very well to chain piece.  Here are the eight that I did today.  I sewed the pieces for the red one and before I trimmed the corners I used them to keep myself straight when piecing the other blocks.  I have laid them out as they would be in a quilt.

Now, I will be working on the mystery quilt that I needed a break from before I let myself come back to these.  It might just be enough motivation to get the mystery done.

Enjoy and if you make some of these blocks or a quilt make sure you let me know so I can see it.

Happy quilting everyone!

Responses

  1. This is gonna make a great quilt!

  2. Nice tutorial. I had to check in to see what noodles are, I’ve only heard the 2 1/2″ strips referred to as Jelly Rolls. I think I like noodles better.

  3. i like that a lot! thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

