Posted by: Diane F | June 13, 2008

General update on all kinds of stuff

It is hard to believe that it has almost been a week since I blogged last.  This was the first full week of summer vacation here.  When school begins next year I will have a senior and a freshman.  How time flies!  So yesterday we took the senior in for his first setting of senior pictures.  He took several changes of clothes and 3 of my quilts, my idea not his. The photographer chose this one. It was a mystery that I did in River City Quilters quilt club from Wabasha MN, these pics are from last years show.  The photographer complemented me on my great ability to choose colors that work together well.  (That is my favorite part of quilting is picking out the fabrics)

DS also had pictures done with his sports uniforms and just some other cool shots.  We have one more session at a waterfall location about 45 minutes from here, we were suppose to do that last night but with all the rain we have had as of late the photograher thought it would be to dangerous so we rescheduled that part.

Since I am on the subject of DS#1 I will mention that last Friday night, my DM and I, along with anyone else who cared to attend,  were treated to the final show chior concert of the year.  My DS is one of those members,  Lord knows he didn’t get his singing ability from me!  They had an exceptional year, going to the state solo and ensemble competition and scoring a 1, which I understand is the top ranking.  Here they are at the local park in the band shell.  DS is the one in the center as there were a couple of girls missing on the night of the performance.  They did a spectacular job of singing!

OK last week heralded the return of insurance coverage at our house.  That saw me knocking down the doors of the doctors.  I really need to get the sores on my legs healed!  Well Jane, my doc, put me on a wrap called the Uni-boot.  I can’t tell you how much this has helped, I wish we would have done it sooner, but I have let that go, no need to stress of the past.  I hope to post pics of the improvement soon.  I seem to forget to take pics when I have the wrapping of my leg.

My other doc, has taken me off one medicine and is trying another.  It is helping me stay better focused, and better at prioritizing my time.  I still need something to lengthen my extremely short fuse, but we can discuss that at my next visit.

On the quilting front, I did some more piecing and some customer quilts.  I will show the pieced quilt when it is finished.  I had the two meetings this week for the mystery group that I run for a local LQS, which allows me to see some great friends and talk quilting.

Last but not least I wanted to mention that I am still continuing to drink the green smoothies that Susan has turned me on to.  This mornings recipe was OJ, pineapple, strawberry, spinach and because I have some fresh green been (raw) in the frig I thought I would throw a big hand full of those in too.  Well, it was great.  I haven’t had one I haven’t liked yet.  I try different fruits with the spinach all the time.  I have even gone so far as to plant my own greens as I can’t find kale or endive fresh locally. 

Some benefits I have noticed since starting this green smoothie breakfast plan,  I crave way less sweets.  I actually crave meat now, that is due to my iron still being on the low side.  Also, I noticed the other day when I did have a hankering for a snickers bar, that after 2 bites I couldn’t eat any more as it was too sweet. This last one is a combination of eating better and the drug that helps me focus, I have been binging on bad food a lot less, so I can jump up and down and tell you that in the 5-6 weeks I have been doing this I have lost 13 pounds.  I am starting a new exercise program that finally came in the mail yesterday and will blog more about that later.

Thanks for sticking with this long post.  Everyone make sure to have a great weekend and happy Father’s day to all the dad’s they may be reading my blog!

Responses

  1. Glad to hear that you are on the mend! I don’t have kids so I had no idea that Senior pictures had turned into such an event! It was bound to happen though…..when there’s money to me made…

  2. Wow!! You have been busy!!! Go Diane!! Glad the insurance kicked back in so you get get the leg healed!!!! Isn’t it funny that once you kick the corn syrup to the curb, the addiction and cravings are just gone and so much easier to manage! Good luck with growing the greens!

  3. I have to agree with you Jan. Since I cut way back on the high fructose corn syrup I can’t even finish a whole can of regular soda, and I usually only have one a week. I was think after I posted the blog that I should have also credited the elimination of the HFCS as part of my weight loss too.

  4. Very interesting on the smoothies…I need to try that…WTG on getting healthier!

    Very, very glad to read you are making progress with your leg! Very glad!

    I couldn’t believe the choir kids are even wearing the bright pink & green combo! Love it!

    My son has already informed me that he does not want to do “a bunch of posing” for senior pics, after seeing the ones our friends had done. I might have to take some of him myself!

  5. Diane, it sounds like you’ve been incredibly busy and also doing an excellent job of taking care of yourself. Making wise and healthy choices for ourselves isn’t always straight forward or easy.

    Neat that you took along some quilts to be included in the senior photos. Amazing how fast time goes by and how quickly our children grow up, isn’t it?

    Hope the doctor is able to get your leg completely healed soon.

  6. I am so happy that you are feeling better and that your leg is healing, this has been one long haul for you…. Love that quilt, it looks so much like Miss Rosie’s “Elizabeth Pattern” except yours has borders, love it…. Senior pictures, brings back many, many memories, I forgot how soon in advance they must be done… Happy Quilting and Good health to YOU!

  7. Beautiful quilts!

    I love hearing about people drinking Green Smoothies and doing so well on them.

    Cheers,
    Kristen

  8. Hooray for you, Diane! I’m so glad to hear that you are feeling better– it’s been a long haul, and I applaud your hard work.
    Go green (smoothies!)!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

