Posted by: Diane F | June 21, 2008

Sesquicentennial quilt revisited

Two years ago our town had it’s Sesquicentennial celebration.  We had a one day celebration here which included a quilt show.  I was the organizer of the quilt show.  In anticipation of the day and to create excitement, I published a pattern each week in our local paper.  The challenge was to make a quilt from one, any or all of the patterns.  When I did this I had talked about it on another blog that I had at the time.  I had some requests to share the patterns.  So I had thought about doing a block of the week here on this blog.  Being that this year, marks the 150th anniversary of the State of Minnesota.  This is where I grew up.  I thought if enough of you were interested, I would share this quilt with you.

This is a picture of the a quilt that contains the twelve blocks that were published plus some additional blocks to make the quilt queen size.  I have wanted to make another one out of civil war fabrics with just the twelve blocks.  If I have enough people interested, I would start it after Crazy Mom Quilts gets done with her block of the week.  Let me know if you want to play!

Responses

  1. Ooh – I’m definitely “game” for this one! My MIL is from Minnesota and goes up several times a year to visit family there. She would love a quilt for the 150th anniversary I’m sure – it would make a great Christmas present for her! I look forward to the first block!

  2. Count me in! I’ve lived my whole life in Minnesota. We live in Savage, MN, just south of Minneapolis. I think this would be a lot of fun!

  3. I’d love to do it – count me in!!
    Kris

  4. I might join in, if I have the courage to give it a whirl. I’m just a quiltin’ newbie, and I don’t know if it would be too hard. It’s beautiful, though.

  5. I hope you do!!! I would love to join!! But if you don’t would you share the patterns you used to make this one please!?!?!?!

    I hope to start the quilt some time later in August. I am preparing for a show this weekend and don’t even want to think about this until after the show.


Leave a Reply

Categories

