Posted by: Diane F | August 13, 2009

A Walk on the Wonky Side

This Flickr group is set up for those who have been doing a couple of quilt alongs this summer.  I participated in the first one and had the fabrics picked out for the second one when my computer died.  Well the discussion now is for the third quilt along.  A wonky log cabin seams to be the consensus.  So I am posting a picture of one of my favorite quilts. 

Picture 001

 It has been in our family for more than 25 years.  It was made by my mother’s quilting group at her church or it was donated to them in some state of UFO and they finished it.  (I lean more towards the second option being true) As you will see, it is the epitome of a scrap quilt, many different prints of fabric and many different types of fabric.  This top certainly came from the time of make do with what you have on hand.

Picture 004

My mother purchased this quilt to reside here.

2005_1022Image0006

This was our families summer and sometimes even winter cabin.  It was purchased some time in the late 70’s.  I always remember the quilt being there.  I remember begging my mom to let me pick it up on the way to college in the mid 80’s.  The answer was always no.  After that I was resigned to the fact that the cabin was where this quilt belonged.

Fast forward to last year.  Due to many factors the cabin was sold (and no longer stands) and my mother offered me the quilt.  Now I use it every night.  It is a perfect summer quilt, it has no batting, just the foundation pieced log cabin blocks and a flannel backing all tied with red crochet cotton.

Picture 002

None of the seams line up, nor are any of the logs cut the same size.  This goes to show the phrase “what is old is new” really has some merits. So let this Picture 003

be some inspiration to those embarking on the quilt along.  For those of you who just love quilts I hope you enjoyed my wonky walk this morning.   Have a great day everyone!

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this wonderful quilt. It is great to see a quilt that is not perfect by today’s standards.

    I am working on a log cabin that I had to add an exter strip just to make it fit. I am not sure any body else can see it but me. I do not think I have ever finished a quilt that is “perfect”. I reall love your log cabin quilt.

    Kathleen

  2. That log cabin is fabulous!!! I love it and all it’s wonkiness 🙂

  3. It is a real stunner! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. What a great quilt and story!!! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I just loved your wonky walk. You see, the beauty of that quilt you’re showing us should make us realise that beauty is not in perfection. I just love your quilt and the story that goes with. It’s a lesson of life. Thanks a lot for that and Hello from Belgium.


Leave a Reply

Categories

