Posted by: Diane F | August 18, 2009

Can you smell…….

what diane is cooking???????

You must say that the same way Duane Johnson AKA the Rock used to say, “can you smell what the Rock is cooking” 

OK if you didn’t have a house full of boys and a man who watched wrestling back in the day when Duane used to be the Rock.  That all will have gone over your head.  I used to shake my head and ask why on earth would you all watch this stuff. Until, one day when I happen to see Duane enter the arena and yell Can you smell……what the Rock is cooking??????  It is not that I enjoyed watching the wrestling, it was the wrestler……

the-rock

Can you say YUMMO!!!!!  He like Sam Elliott (I know from Sunday night Sam does it for a few of my friends LOL) is just so pleasant to look at.

OK GET BACK ON TASK DIANE……..

Any way shortly after my infatuation started DH and the boys started say “CAN YOU SMELL WHAT THE DIANE IS COOKING” when ever something in the kitchen smelled good. 

So today is day 2 of de-appleing (is that a word?) the freezer.  I made an apple pie cake.  It is in the oven now and I am just starting to smell it. I thought I would share this recipe with you all as it the start of apple season here in Wisconsin, with the pink ladies, paula reds and Zestar ripe and ready for picking. 

APPLE PIE CAKE

Cream: 1/4 cup of butter and 1 cup of sugar (I sometimes use brown sugar).  Add 1 egg and mix.

add all at once,1 cup flour with 1/4 tsp salt and 1 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg and baking soda,then mix again.

Add 1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional IMHO), 2 1/2 cups diced (sliced) apples, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 2 Tbls hot water.

Put in a greased 9″ pie or cake pan.  Bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees F.  Serve with whipped  or ice cream. (heck plain with a cup of coffee is great too) Best if served slightly warm.

Picture 026

While it is the prettiest cake, I promise that the taste makes up for it.  This is a double recipe as I had too many apples for the 9 inch pie plate.  I put it in a 9×13 pan and had to bake it about 10 minutes longer.

and who says you can’t have cake and ice cream for breakfast.

Picture 027

Have a great day everyone!

Diane………

Responses

  1. I think I just shorted out my laptop keyboard with too much drool.. I’m not saying which picture LOL Thank you for sharing the recipe!! I think apple season starts soon??? Maybe??? I need some of that….

  2. Oh duh… I just went back and read words instead of looking at pretty pictures… apples season has begun…. Please ignore the brain dead mom

    • it was all the drooling that had you not paying attention to the words. LOL!

  3. Wow, I was salivating by the end of your post. The apple cake looks tasty and while YOUR GUY is way more toned than Sam….Sam is great for the eyes and the ears….I’m just sayin.

    • there is nothing that says we can’t enjoy looking at all sorts of different good looking guys. whatever works,works.;)

  4. I won’t comment on Sam Elliott or the wrestler but that apple pie cake sure got my attention! I think I’ll have to take that to my family reunion next month. Of course, I’ll have to try it a few times first to make sure I have the recipe down good! 😀

  5. This looks so yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I see one of these in the near future (as soon as our latest heat wave ends).

  6. I’m in agreement with the others……that Apple Pie cake looks de-lish……with the ice cream yum, yum, yum……I’m going to try it out this weekend.

    Karen L

  7. […]   Want the recipe?!  Go to Diane’s fun blog.  Here’s the link to the post with the recipe. Now I have to try that apple pancake recipe she posted too…… she’s just bad in a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

