Posted by: Diane F | September 8, 2009

No quilting just apple pie

So I had my camera with me on Saturday.  So I am gonna tease you with the steps to a great apple pie.

Start with apples,  2 or more varieties make a better pie.  I used Zestar and St. Edmunds Russett.

applepie1

Next you need a pie crust.  I used one I had made from scratch on Friday and froze for later use. 

applepie2

Once you have peeled and sliced the apple, you add sugar, spices a little flour.  Then place them in the pie shell and dot with butter.  The butter helps to thicken the juice created by the apples.

applepie3

Put some flour, brown sugar, and spices, I like cinnamon and nutmeg, in a large bowl.

applepie4

Cut in some butter.

applepie5

Place this on top of the apples and protect the crust by covering with foil, or one of these neat little pie crust thingy’s we have at the orchard. and place in the oven.  We have a fancy litttle pan to put the pies on to bake so they don’t make a mess in the oven.

applepie6

Bake for about and hour, until the apples are soft and the crust is brown.  I put aluminum foil over the pie for the last 15 minutes or so, to keep the crunchy top from burning.

applepie7

Now if you could only smell how great this was when I took it out of the oven.

Have a great day!

Responses

  1. Bring that on over and I’ll provide the coffee 😉 Looks great!!!

  2. well hummm. i can’t compete with jan’s coffee, but i have pretty dishes to put the pie on! come to my house!!!

  3. Yup, I’m definitely in trouble now! Going to have to make a run to the grocery store! I wish we had a variety of apples here. I think we have Fuji, Granny Smith, and Red Delicious. That’s about it.

    • I wish I could send you some of our great apples. I checked and we can’t ship them to California. Bummer!

  4. Your pie looks so delectable and yummmy! Where can you get those guards from? I would love to have one of those.

  5. I’d also like to have a couple of those crust guards. Can you ship those, Diane? I’m baking apple pies today, all because of you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

