Posted by: Diane F | September 9, 2009

So yesterday was desert, now how about breakfast

Today, I won’t be so sneaky, I will actually give you the recipe.  Baked apple pancakes are on the menu this morning.  Here we go,

two tart apples

Picture 029

I peeled them this morning, but I have also left the peel on. Thinly slice them and saute them in 1/4 cup of butter. 

Picture 030

now in a large bowl mix 3/4 cup of any “complete” pancake mix (the just add water kind) if you don’t have the complete kind, just substitute milk where I add water.  Plus 1 tsp of sugar

Picture 032

add 3 eggs

Picture 031

and 1/2 cup of water or milk, depending on you pancake mix,mix well.

Picture 033

by now your apples should be soft but not falling apart

Picture 034

Pour pancake batter over the top ans sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.  The original recipe calls for 1/3 cup of sugar.  I use less than 1/4 cup as we put maple syrup on these when they are finished baking. It also calls for 1 tsp cinnamon, I just sprinkle til it looks good.  If I have nutmeg I put some of that on too.

Picture 035

Bake in a 450 degree oven for 12-14 minutes until pancake is puffed and sugar is melted.

Picture 036

Slice, serve with maple syrup and enjoy

Picture 037

WARNING****** ONE PIECE IS NEVER ENOUGH.

I double the recipe usually, and bake it in a 9×13 pan.  This is usually a Sunday morning thing, but I have also made it for supper too.  No one is ever disappointed when they here that is what is for supper.  This is always a hit at Brunch.

Sorry about not having anything quilt related again today.

Responses

  1. This looks so great…and easy, too! Thanks for sharing the recipe. It may be our dinner tonight! ;0)


Leave a Reply

Categories

