Posted by: Diane F | May 28, 2008

Block of the week #5 and a little tip

I want to tell you all how much fun I am having with this Star block of the week over on Amanda Jean’s blog.  Last night someone asked a question on how to center a triangle when you are sewing it to a square as you would for say a square in a square block.  I have taken pictures of something I do as I pieced this weeks block.  It involves no math!

Step one, you have your two pieces as shown.

Step 2, fold the square in half with wrong sides together and finger press in the middle.

Step 3 now carefully fold your triangle in half right sides together to match points.  Finger press again, but take care not to pull with the triangles as biases stretch easily.

Step 4, now your triangle will nest very nicely on the square in the correct spot.

Step 5 is to stitch 1/4″ on the side

Step 6, when I do the square in a square I sew the triangles to opposite sides, then press as shown in the next two photos.

Now I just continue in the same manor folding to find the centers and adding triangles until I am done.

And finally my finished block, while I won’t post pics of them I was able to finish 4 more of the setting squares for the quilt top this week also.


Responses

  1. Thanks for the tip -I’m going to try that out after my first attempt at block 5 crashed and burned – do you do the same to allign a triangle on a triangle?

    Carie, on the triangle to triangle I just line up the edges and the points, I don’t do the folding trick.

  2. Thank you for posting this. I have had the hardest time with this block today. I am going to used the folding when I try it again tomorrow. It’s my last block to sew for this quilt and I am ready to start piecing. Your block came out beautiful.

  3. this is perfect! thanks for sharing.

  4. I’m liking your star blocks, too.

  5. Oh my! This is so beautiful! Thanks for the help, I have needed that tip!

  6. Love this, I cannot wait to see it finished, you are so kind to take time for the tutorials…. Be well

  7. Your block looks wonderful! Thanks for the tip, I’ll definitely use it when I make mine.

  8. Thanks for the fabulous tip. So simple yet I never thought to do it that way. Love the colour!

  9. Thanks so much for the tip! That will help – I think I’ll be able to tackle that block now. BTW, your block looks great.

  10. Great tip, I hope I remember that everytime I have those to do! 🙂

  11. I really appreciate the tip! I need all the help I can get!


Leave a comment

Categories